Home / Music / Album Reviews Creepin on Ah come up by Bone Thugs n Harmony

Album Reviews Creepin on Ah come up by Bone Thugs n Harmony

“Creepin’ on ah Come Up” was released in 1994 on former NWA member Eazy-E’s Ruthless Records label. The group Bone Thugs n’ Harmony hails from Cleveland, Ohio. This “album” contains 8 tracks, three of which are not full length and was the first with Flesh-N-Bone.

Despite the brevity of the album, it received a lot of critical acclaim. Three million copies were sold in the United States alone. With lighting fast raps and barely a breath, Bone Thugs quick rise to fame was hardly a surprise. “For the Love of $ (Money)” featuring Eazy-E and “Thuggish Ruggish Bone” were the only two singles released but any fan knows all the albums tracks and all warrant praise.

The introduction track (simply entitled “Intro”) features a dark melody and deep vocals. The sound of guns being loaded accompanies an introduction of the bands members. Bizzy, Wish, Krayzie, Layzie and Flesh begin a harmonious chant of “East 99 is where you find us slangin’ that yayo baby, Cleveland is the city where we come from so run run”, after their introduction.

Track one spills over into “Mr. Ouija”, a simple and harmonious track done in a “call and answer” style. Though separate tracks, the two form a longer single track as Mr. Ouija picks up the introduction.

Track three is “Thuggish Ruggish Bone”, the albums first single and first full-length track. It sold over 500,000 copies as a single in the United States. The track begins with a politician denouncing “thugs” and the song itself starts with Shatasha Williams lending excellent vocals to the song.

Track four, “No Surrender”, begins with a robotic voice repeating “no surrender”. Bizzy kicks off the song. The other members add their own verses all with a fast but melodic pace.

Track five, “Down foe my Thing” continues the albums pace. “Gangsta'” is hardly a sufficient description of the track which is an excellent showcase of each member’s talent.

“Foe tha Love of $” or “Foe tha Love of Money”, the sixth track, features Eazy-E adding a verse with rhymes similar to (and in at least one case, the same as) Eazy-E’s NWA days circa “Straight Outta Compton”. The songs theme of “gotta’ make that money man” is interpreted by each member skillfully starting with Flesh-n-Bone. It was the albums second single.

The seventh track is the album’s title track “Creepin on ah Come Up”. The track starts with Eazy-E announcing in a dark voice “right about now, Thugs-n-Harmony is on a come up, so all you bustas out there beware”. Bizzy provides the chorus “stalkin’ gat fools, walkin’ jack moves” before Krayzie begins his verse with “woke up this morning with the thought of robbin’ a bank to get rich” and continues the story in a smooth flowing style typical of the group.

“Mo’ Cheese” rounds out the EP on an instrumental note produced by DJ Yella.